List of Grand National winners

As we approach the next Aintree Grand National you may find this list of Grand National winners very useful and very informative. We have listed the year of the race, the horse which won the race and the jockey which will possibly give you an idea where to put your money if you’re looking for a bet on this years race. This is a race which began back in 1887 and while it has attracted controversy over the years it is the oldest horse race in the world.

Despite the controversy of the large field, high jumps and the energy sapping length of the race it attracts hundreds of millions of pounds from gamblers around the world. In horse racing circles the Grand National is the ultimate accolade for a trainer, jockey and even a horse. Horse owners are willing to pay big money to get the best trainers and the best jockeys because owning a winner of the Grand National is certainly a feather in anybodys cap.

The list of Grand National winners since 1887 is listed below in full :-

2012 Neptune Collonges Daryl Jacob
2011 Ballabriggs Jason Maguire
2010 Don’t Push It Tony McCoy
2009 Mon Mome Liam Treadwell
2008 Comply or Die Timmy Murphy
2007 Silver Birch Robbie Power
2006 Numbersixvalverde Niall Madden
2005 Hedgehunter Ruby Walsh
2004 Amberleigh House Graham Lee
2003 Monty’s Pass Barry Geraghty
2002 Bindaree Jim Culloty
2001 Red Marauder Richard Guest
2000 Papillon Ruby Walsh

1999 Bobbyjo Paul Carberry
1998 Earth Summit Carl Llewellyn
1997 Lord Gyllene Tony Dobbin
1996 Rough Quest Mick Fitzgerald
1995 Royal Athlete Jason Titley
1994 Miinnehoma Richard Dunwoody
1993 Void Race
1992 Party Politics Carl Llewellyn
1991 Seagram Nigel Hawke
1990 Mr Frisk Marcus Armytage

1989 Little Polveir Jimmy Frost
1988 Rhyme ‘N’ Reason Brendan Powell
1987 Maori Venture Steve Knight
1986 West Tip Richard Dunwoody
1985 Last Suspect Hywel Davies
1984 Hallo Dandy Neale Doughty
1983 Corbiere Ben De Haan
1982 Grittar Mr Dick Saunders
1981 Aldaniti Bob Champion
1980 Ben Nevis Mr Charlie Fenwick

1979 Rubstic Maurice Barnes
1978 Lucius Bob Davies
1977 Red Rum Tommy Stack
1976 Rag Trade John Burke
1975 L’Escargot Tommy Carberry
1974 Red Rum Brian Fletcher
1973 Red Rum Brian Fletcher
1972 Well To Do Graham Thorner
1971 Specify John Cook
1970 Gay Trip Pat Taaffe

1969 Highland Wedding Eddie Harty
1968 Red Alligator Brian Fletcher
1967 Foinavon John Buckingham
1966 Anglo Tim Norman
1965 Jay Trump Mr Tommy Smith
1964 Team Spirit Willie Robinson
1963 Ayala Pat Buckley
1962 Kilmore Fred Winter
1961 Nicolaus Silver Bobby Beasley
1960 Merryman II Gerry Scott

1959 Oxo Michael Scudamore
1958 Mr What Arthur Freeman
1957 Sundew Fred Winter
1956 E.S.B. Dave Dick
1955 Quare Times Pat Taaffe
1954 Royal Tan Bryan Marshall
1953 Early Mist Bryan Marshall
1952 Teal Arthur Thompson
1951 Nickel Coin John Bullock
1950 Freebooter Jimmy Power

1949 Russian Hero Leo McMorrow
1948 Sheila’s Cottage Arthur Thompson
1947 Caughoo Eddie Dempsey
1946 Lovely Cottage Captain Bobby Petre
1945 No Race
1944 No Race
1943 No Race
1942 No Race
1941 No Race
1940 Bogskar Mervyn Jones

1939 Workman Tim Hyde
1938 Battleship Bruce Hobbs
1937 Royal Mail Evan Williams
1936 Reynoldstown Mr Fulke Walwyn
1935 Reynoldstown Mr Frank Furlong
1934 Golden Miller Gerry Wilson
1933 Kellsboro’ Jack Dudley Williams
1932 Forbra Tim Hamey
1931 Grakle Bob Lyall
1930 Shaun Goilin Tommy Cullinan

1929 Gregalach Bob Everett
1928 Tipperary Tim Mr Bill Dutton
1927 Sprig Ted Leader
1926 Jack Horner Billy Watkinson
1925 Double Chance Major John
1924 Master Robert Bob Trudgill
1923 Sergeant Murphy Captain Tuffy Bennet
1922 Music Hall Lewis Rees
1921 Shaun Spadah Dick Rees
1920 Troytown Mr Jack Anthony

1919 Poethlyn Ernie Piggott
1918 No Race at Aintree
1917 No Race at Aintree
1916 No Race at Aintree
1915 Ally Sloper Mr Jack Anthony
1914 Sunloch Bill Smith
1913 Covertcoat Percy Woodland
1912 Jerry M Ernie Piggott
1911 Glenside Mr Jack Anthony
1910 Jenkinstown Bob Chadwick

1909 Lutteur III Georges Parfrement
1908 Rubio Henry Bletsoe
1907 Eremon Alf Newey
1906 Ascetic’s Silver Mr Aubrey Hastings
1905 Kirkland Frank Mason
1904 Moifaa Arthur Birch
1903 Drumcree Percy Woodland
1902 Shannon Lass David Read
1901 Grudon Arthur Nightingall
1900 Ambush II Algy Anthony

1899 Manifesto George Williamson
1898 Drogheda John Gourley
1897 Manifesto Terry Kavanagh
1896 The Soarer Mr David Campbell
1895 Wild Man From Borneo Mr Joe Widger
1894 Why Not Arthur Nightingall
1893 Cloister Bill Dollery
1892 Father O’Flynn Capt Roddy Owen
1891 Come Away Mr Harry Beasley
1890 Ilex Arthur Nightingall

1889 Frigate Mr Tommy Beasley
1888 Playfair George Mawson
1887 Gamecock Bill Daniels

As you will see from the list above there are some famous names from the world of horse racing and there are some famous horses who have managed to negotiate its energy sapping and very challenging course on numerous occasions. The race itself has been held at Aintree for the vast majority of the history of the Grand National and is now an integral part of the community and the horseracing world.

« « List of online bingo websites
List of most powerful earthquakes in recent times » »